The philosophy behind better discussion boards

LaptopI got a lot of thankful comments for my newsletter article about grading discussion boards.  It’s good to know that people are enjoying what I put out there.  I kind of work in a bubble, where I find or create resources, but don’t always know if it’s what people want, or if they are helpful enough to the people who use them.  Or if they’re over-helpful.  So I welcome any and all constructive feedback.

Back to the point of this post…   I did some more digging and found clips from an interview of Bill Pelz, the developer of the discussion board rubric that I used as an example of how to use a grading system that encourages quality, not quantity.  While my newsletter article just focused on the Cognitive Presence in a classroom, these videos explain the other important aspects of Presence: Learning, Teaching, and Social.  He also explains the idea of “Technoheutogogy.”  My favorite quite:  “You can’t really teach adults.  Adults have to decide to learn.”

For a broader summary of Dr. Pelz’s online teaching philosophy, check out this journal article.

One thought on “The philosophy behind better discussion boards

  1. Pingback: Taming the Discussion Board Bully | Instructional Design @ ESU

Leave a Reply

